‘Ummm….that’s not normal.’

If you follow my Twitter then you probably already know how my afternoon went yesterday. 

View Image

Jared came down with a cold last weekend and on Monday started complaining of ear pain. We just figured that it was maybe due to the sinus pressure and the change in weather. So we gave him some Motrin and a warm compress. The next day was a much-anticipated field trip so he felt miraculously better. However the pain (shockingly) returned that evening.

Leah has had a cough for about 2-3 weeks (following a cold) and then started getting fevers the last few days.

Now, for those who know me, know that I hate taking my kids to the doctor. Since they are generally healthy kids, when they *do* get sick, it is usually just a cold or something that a doctor can’t really ‘fix’. I always figure the threat of exposure to the nasty/snotty swine-flu infected kids in the waiting room was enough of a reason to treat our problems at home.

I had to finally give in yesterday because I realized that enough was enough. I was able to get both of them in yesterday at the same time. The doctor quickly diagnosed Jared with a double ear infection (ooops! So ‘Man up and just take some Motrin’ advice was probably NOT the route I should’ve taken.) and Leah had the beginnings of one along with a fever that came up to 102.6 as soon as we got to the doctor. It was quite sad and I felt terrible! Neither one of my kids have EVER had ear infections, so I was actually surprised.

Well, another thing I brought up to the doctor was the fact that Leah has had fevers every 6-8 weeks for the past 5 years. Now, one of these days I will detail the horrible horrible day that she had an unstoppable febrile seizure (most kids come out of those things within a couple of minutes, but Leah was unable to come out of it on her own resulting in a Code 3 ride to the hospital where she was quickly placed under a medical coma to stop the seizures). The aftermath was a few months of a very sick girl. The ‘regular’ fevers started that year and has never stopped. She has never had another seizure, and I just assumed the fevers might have been just a normal ‘side effect’ of that incident. Yes…my name is Dr Stephanie. The fevers only lasted a couple of days and most of the time she ‘felt’ fine. So, never a reason to take her in.

After explaining all of this to the doctor, she just looked at me and basically said:

“Umm…that’s not normal.”

She DID further state that if there was anything seriously wrong with her, then she would have progressively gotten worse. However, to be on the safe side, she ordered a bunch of blood work to see if anything pops up.

To be honest, I’m not too concerned. She has grown and developed normally and is generally a healthy kid. She is soon to be out of the ‘threat age range’ for a repeat febrile seizure and other than Tylenol and Motrin, I’m not sure how they could ‘better’ treat her fevers.

Here I am today, home with two sick kids so please send positive thoughts and prayers my way to keep me sane.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “‘Ummm….that’s not normal.’

  1. You’ve got the thoughts and prayers, Hon.

  2. Linda Weeks

    Hey kiddo – we need some more blogging….
    Miss your blogs.

Leave a Reply

