Honest Scrap Award or 10 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me

 honest

 

So I have been asked by two separate people so far  (I’m sure my mom would be the 3rd if she had done this)  to take on the daunting chore task of exposing 10 truths about myself. This was actually brought up a few days ago and since those two ( Alicia & Kristin )  have disclosed some personal truths, I am forced to dig deep and find things that I don’t usually share. I have to admit, this is a difficult task since I am seriously an open book with most people. What you see is what you get. Well, here’s what I could come up with.

 

1. The big issue preventing us from having a 3rd child is my husbands age. There are of course other issues that would make it difficult, but the fact is that Jimmy and I have never had a time without kids. I came into the marriage with Jared and we are looking forward to enjoying our later years together. Having another one now would mean he or she wouldn’t be out of the house until Jimmy was in his 60’s. Sometimes I feel shallow about this, but I also know that we are now able to give Jared and Leah everything they need and most of what they want – another child would stretch us thinner.

2. I *HATE*, with a passion, witnessing animals having sex. I am far from prude and I can handle most ‘gross’ things. But animal sex (no matter what species) is the nastiest thing EVER! The fact that this shit is on TV and people actually watch  it, by CHOICE, is disgusting! **shudder**

3. Sometimes I fantasize about an injury or illness that will land me in the hospital for at least a week. So I can rest. This injury or illness would also result in at least 2-3 months off from work. So I can rest. Let me just admit that I have never spent time in the hospital other than delivering my babies – but in MY fantasy, I would receive only glorious peace and quiet and nurses would NOT be poking and prodding me every 15 minutes and my hair and make-up would look perfect when people came to visit during the ‘visiting hours’ of 1:15-2:00. So I can rest.

4. I wish I had more pictures of me when I was younger. Especially my teen years. I was too shy and embarrassed. When a camera came out, I disappeared. I regret that. I still don’t like taking pics, but I try to get more and more in since I know that I will appreciate it in the future. I also over-do it with the kids and I won’t let them hide when they are teenagers.

5. Because I come from a family (on both sides) of alcoholism and drug addiction, I hate that I second guess myself when I have a glass of wine or a beer. Am I having this as a mature, responsible adult who wants to unwind? Or am I an alcoholic waiting to consume who I am and destroy everything around me? My mind is usually put at ease after going out with friends (on the rare occasion) and it is proven that I am quite a lightweight and I am good to stop after a max of 2 drinks (with the exception of 1 or 2 times in as many years). It sucks to feel like I have to defend myself and my decisions to myself!

6. To travel more is my dream. To travel the world. To experience different cultures and environments. But I want to travel in comfort so that limits my opportunities due to lack of funds. I promise myself tho that I will at least make a trip to Ireland, if I go nowhere else other than to Ireland, I will be happy.  

7. I was molested when I was 5 years old. My daughter is 5 years old. Flashbacks are not fun.

8. Sometimes I wish I had more girlfriends, but I don’t have the time to maintain quality friendships. My ‘best’ friends were made at work, I have a difficult time starting friendships with the local moms. It’s really hard for me to fit in with them and I sometimes feel like I am not myself when I try.  I am thankful for the few close friends I *do* have and those that I am able to call after months of no contact and pick up where we left off.

9. I have long wished that I could get away with a pixie cut. Pixie cut, dyed black, with an eyebrow ring and a tatoo on the back of my neck. One day….

10. I have ‘It’s a Hard Knock Life’ from the Annie Soundtrack on my Ipod. I LOVE that song and I LOVE that movie! My dad used to call me Annie.

Whew! That was too much, huh?! Well, I did it! I actually came up with some things that most of you did not know. So, I either scared the shit of you or you will be able to relate to at least a few of those things……

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Honest Scrap Award or 10 Things You Probably Didn’t Know About Me

  1. This was very honest and very brave. I am impressed. I’m not sure if I can be as transparent as you have (I was tagged also). Good job!

  2. whatsupwiththejoneses

    I love it! (sorry for picking on you both, Linda). 🙂
    Stephanie, like your mom, your ability to be open and honest always impresses me, and the more I learn about you, the more I like…so don’t think you are “scaring the shit” out of me anytime soon. 😉 (oh, and P.S. Ewwww to animal sex!)

  3. i’m cracking up over animal sex! and sorry to hear about some of the other things. i loved this exercise – i’ve learned so much about other people!

  4. Jessica

    Yeah, animal sex, no! Ick!

    I really enjoyed reading this, it was very brave of you. You didn’t scare me at all and I don’t know you as well as the others, just made me like you more.

  5. Lisa Drennan

    Steph,
    As always, another well written blog. You never cease to amaze me!! I laugh at how much I can relate to almost every single one of the above listed items!! #1–SO understand every bit of this. We will have to go on a couple date ten years from now (when we no longer have to struggle to find a babysitter!) & reminisce about all that you and I went thru as single moms trying to make it! #2–never thought much about how others felt about this but SO with you–EWWWEE!! #3–Rest would be so nice, that’s why you called it exactly what it is, a fantasy!! Lol..I hope that I’m a part of the last sentence in #8. I love ya girl!

    • mom911

      Thank you Lisa! I will mark my calender ‘Date w/ Lisa July 2019’ LOL
      If I remember correctly, I believe you and I actually met at ‘work’. Didn’t we meet at Burger King. If not, then our friendship is a rarity for me. 🙂 And yes, I *do* appreciate our friendship and the comfort of knowing that we love each other even when we don’t see/talk to each other every week. I know without a doubt that you are only a phone call away if I ever need you. Thank you for that.

  6. Hee hee hee. I never really thought about the animal sex thing. I just don’t watch it either. Weird some people, eh?

    And yep, I was getting jealous of people with the Swine flu because it meant they could just SLEEP all day and they had a good excuse. I think it means we’re pathetic. But at least there’s two of us!! 🙂

  7. You weren’t kidding when you said we were a lot alike. Holy cow.

    I am sorry to hear about what happened to you as a child. Leah being 5 must be pure hell for you right now. Just having children and worrying about their safety and wellbeing is hard enough, but that extra bit of worry is most likely overwhelming at times.

  8. I don’t know if you remember when I had my hysterectomy – I was just turning 31 so you would have been still about 10. I was working full time at a law firm – it was bliss I tell ya. Once I got home I didn’t have to *do* anything really except feed myself cuz Dad took a week off. I was off work for 6 whole weeks and the weather was beautiful – it was a pretty good *vacation*.

Leave a Reply

